top of page

Justin

 Kurtz

  • JK

Why I do what I do

I have done many things for work over the years. I have been in restaurants since I started washing dishes when I was 13. I have worked in customer service. I have owned and operated a retail video game establishment. I've done construction work. This may date me a bit but I even spent time working at a music store. Not instruments, mind you but CDs, cassettes and records. I always dreamed of being a famous musician but as I got older and wiser, that dream didn't pay the bills or provide the right type of life for my family

I am very proud to say that I have done many things because each one of them offered me a certain experience that has shaped me. And my family is thriving so I look back and know that I could've done much worse.


Enter my last personal real estate transaction into the equation. My wife and I were lucky enough to keep our home through the banking and housing nightmare that was 2008-2010 but our value dropped substantially and it took us a lot of years to get back into a position to sell and make enough of a profit to get into something new. Something more appropriate for a family that went from toddlers to teenagers. We were doubtful because we had tried to sell before but this time we had an agent that made finding time to meet (with our busy schedules) easy, who was informative, and had a team of people that were ready to help us tackle any issues as they (inevitably) popped up. I could tell 100 stories about how easy he made it for us, especially because we expected nothing to go well from the beginning but I will save them for another time. Just suffice it to say, we went from heavy skepticism to moving into a brand new house within 5 weeks.

Okay, I will share one tidbit. My wife and I were at SLC airport on a layover when our inspection came through. Of course it was littered with dozens of things that would make a potential seller cringe to see but only three items were of note and required fixing. It was a Friday and by the time we got home Monday late afternoon, all of the repairs were completed and we were already on to the next phase.


Upon completion of the transaction and the insanity that is moving everything from one place to another, I reflected and realized that I wanted to do for people what our agent did for us. It was like a sort of epiphany to realize that there was a career path available to me that would utilize all of my skills to help people achieve their dreams of home ownership. A job where I could educate people, hunt down what they are looking for, negotiate the best deals on their behalf, build relationships, build my own team so that my clients could also have effortless transactions.

In Real Estate school, there were many stories about people wanting to become agents because of negative experiences they have had and I get that may be strong-burning fuel for the fire but I'm glad to have had such a positive experience in which to use as a template. A foundation on which to build more exceptional encounters for people that are navigating the world of real estate either for the first time, or the hundredth time. And I know that this may sound like the musings of someone wearing rose colored glasses but I assure you, I know how delicate a real estate transaction can be and how quickly something unexpected or something bizarre can happen and change the whole thing in an instant. And that's the part that I'm most looking forward to because that's where I get to turn my skills up to 11, and use my knowledge, experience and team of trusted people to provide an effortless experience for you.


My name is Justin. It's nice to meet you.



19 views0 comments
bottom of page